Why there needs to be change

Some say that America has lost its brain. I’d like to submit that we have lost our hearts. Sure, one could pull out statistic after statistic to show that we are getting lower test scores, our teenagers are disconnected from the real world, college students don’t even know the basic tenets of history and grammar anymore, etc. but that isn’t what is wrong here.

The real problem I believe can be summed up in one phrase; “we just don’t care anymore”. Notice I said we. I am including myself in this conversation. We have buried our heads in the sand of circumstance and refuse to see what is going on around us.

To illustrate this point, consider this; a majority of the population especially young people do not believe that any politician is honest or is trying to serve the people. Let that sink in for a second. Then remember that this is a democracy. This is a government of the people, by the people and for the people. We’ve taken the people out of the equation and now its a bunch of politicians just doing their thing.

This same apathy can be seen in our everyday life and not just in politics. Yeah katrina was bad but the government ought to have done something about it. Yeah there is racism still left in the world but someone ought to do something about it. And so on. That someone is me. I want to do something about our problems.

But I need you. I need your honesty. I need your help. I need your heart. I want you to care. I want you to ask the right questions with me. I want you to pick me up when I am down. I want you to feel with me for the homeless guy on the street corner. I want you to feel for the little boy in the hood whose hopes are going to be dashed because he has no avenue to survive. Change needs to happen because the way things are going now isn’t going to cut it and its up to us to do something about it. I can’t do it alone and neither can you. So join me.

3 Comments to “Why there needs to be change”

  1. I’m back in the game in that I’ve registered to vote again after sitting on the sidelines the prior eight years. I am also trying to donate more to charity and, if possible, volunteer my time as well. I think there is a movement out there that no one else is going to do it for us. It was always that way but conditions are such now we have no choice.

  2. Just continue to pass on all that you can pass on, and remind everyone to do the same. Keep your light shining brightly; because we need as much positive energy as possible in our world today. Remember it’s a blessing to talk the talk, but a divine blessing to also walk the walk.
    Sportsattitude – Keep up with your endeavors and don’t get dismayed or dissuaded ((dissuaded) perhaps a Don King word. Keep us abreast on your volunteer efforts, if you don’t mind.

  3. Well said Cordieb and I will and Godspeed to you Sportsattitude.

Leave a Reply

