Andy Pettitte comes off smelling like Roses

First I would like to apologize to the readers that I have for my apparent neglect of my duty to this blog. I certainly was going through a rough patch and didn’t have all the time to dedicate to keeping up my work here. I also would like to thank all for their participation on the second round table subject of education. I got some very good responses and some also equally good questions raised which I will be getting to later.

Now for the matter at hand. I gained a lot of respect for Andy Pettite when I watched a portion of his hour long press conference today. For a quick summary of what he said check this article out .

I could see why the committee excused him from testifying during Roger Clemens and Brian Mcnamee’s hearings. Andy Pettitte just is a nice guy. It is easy to see that he is sincere when he says he is sorry for what he has done. It is easy to forgive him. More importantly, he admitted his transgressions. He wasn’t acting like he was wronged or it was a big misunderstanding. He owned it and for that I will stand behind him and I know many other people will.

What impressed me the most was the way he answered the questions. He listened attentively and never once bristled and came out swinging. He said his faith was what led him to be honest and to let it all hang out. “The truth” has set him free. We all make mistakes and when one of us comes out and genuinely repents of them, then by all means we ought to forgive them. Andy Pettitte you are forgiven. “Go and sin no more.”

3 Comments to “Andy Pettitte comes off smelling like Roses”

  1. According to news sources, Pettitte said he had used H.G.H. not to gain a competitive advantage but to recover from injuries.

    Does he really think that there is no competitive advantage to quicker recovery time from injuries?

    Professional cycling doesn’t welcome this attitude, and neither should professional baseball.

  2. Well we can agree that it was giving him an edge yes. However, I don’t think he understood the full implications. Remember, Baseball hadn’t banned it when he was taking it. Like he said, he was told it could help him heal faster and at the time it was allowed in baseball so he took it.

  3. Andy Pettitte absolutely went up a few notches on the classy meter with the way he handled his situation. The point about it not being banned by the sport he was in is kinda important to keep in front of this story also. A lot of folks forget that part of it. I’ve been outspoken on my blog that I don’t care if players take performance-enhancing substances at all, but if baseball is going to continue to try to chase it out of their sport, so be it. But when you’re caught, take a lesson from Andy.

Leave a Reply

