Today

I have a confession to make. Today, I don’t feel powerful. Actually it had been going on for a few weeks now but I don’t feel strong. Today, I feel quite normal. Like I can’t make a difference. I feel like there are only a few of us and we are like water drops in the big ocean. My God today, I need your strength, your grace and your mercy.

Today I feel very much like I am just a college student and not a man with a big, bright future. After all, I have bills to pay and I am not making enough to offset them. So I am broke and this changing the world thing doesn’t pay a dime. Therefore today, I want to focus on the green and forget about everything else wrong with the world. I promise that if I make money enough I would be able to give more back and I would focus more on others. Or would I?

I don’t care. Not today. Today is all about me. My needs, my tears. My fears, my way. The highway is yours for this is my world and being good doesn’t come with a credit score. So talk of what is right is becoming a bore.

Today, I need you the most because my cross is getting heavy and my loss has kept me weary so stay with me. Today, be my voice and carry on what we started because I feel more ghetto than philosopher and the fight has not been won. But I won’t stop my roll for therein lies my soul. Again I have to ask you; where is your heart?

5 Comments to “Today”

  1. Mmm, as a second-semester senior, I feel this post. We come into college with all these big hopes and dreams, even (like me) coming from a poor background. We think college will just make our lives amazing. Then graduation looms and the real world smacks you in the face again. No more guaranteed food, shelter, warmth. So, yeah, sometimes it’s hard to balance taking care of ourselves with affecting the world.

  2. Courtesy of the Rev. Billy Graham…”Give,” Christ commanded. Yet it was more than a command. It was an invitation to glorious and abundant living. If a person gets his attitude toward money right, it will help straighten out almost every other area of his life. Have you ever realized just how cruel and deceptive a master money can be? Some people spend their entire lives slavishly serving it – often without even realizing it. No wonder Jesus warned, “You cannot serve both God and Money” (Matt. 6:24). The chief motive of the selfish, unregenerate person is “get.” The chief motive of the dedicated Christian should be “give.” Jesus said, “Give, and it will be given to you” (Luke 6:38) It’s a promise, and we know Jesus never breaks His promises.

    In my life experience of almost fifty years, I have been on the financial doorstep of ruin not once but twice. In both cases, not only did I pray even more intensely but I also concentrated on giving more to charity and friends in need, not less. In both cases, I became richer not just spiritually but…eventually…financially as well.

  3. GP. In times like these, I simply pray. . .

  4. Yea, the west should have the championship with the add of Bean town and Detroit only

  5. funny thing… i’ve been so busy with work recently that im just reading this post today (3/19). yes, we all need to pray for the strength to keep fighting the good fight…

Leave a Reply

