Drill baby Drill? Really?

I know I have been staying away from discussing politics and dealing with the pending election but after I heard the Republicans chant “drill, baby, drill” over and over again at the Republican National Convention I couldn’t resist this post. That chant gave me chills and not in a good way.

I honestly don’t believe that the republicans really want to drill. They just can’t possibly believe that this is the solution to the energy problem we have right now. They have to be using this as a ploy to get their base energized and hopefully pull out this election. Right? I mean there are just so many reasons not to drill that I don’t even know where to start. Perharps this analogy will help.

Imagine a woman that is morbidly obese. Her weight is at the point where her Doctors are starting to worry about her health. She literally has to lose weight or she’ll die. Obviously she has to start exercising. She should probably also get on a diet. That would be the smart way to go. Now imagine that instead of her Doctors advicing her to lay off junk food they encourage her to eat more of it. Infact they insist that she triple the amount of junk food that she consumes. They figure that if they encourage her to keep on binge eating and even provided her with more junk food she would somehow realize that she is eating herself to death and lay off the junk food and eat healthier.

How much sense does that make? We are in this mess because of our dependence on oil and the rate at which we consume it. We were bound to run into this problem at some point. Our cars these days are packed with Horsepower. Even vehicles that traditionally didn’t need that amount of power now have it. In the bid to make faster cars we sacrificed efficiency. Back in the day, 25 miles per gallon was regarded as an efficient car. These days, people eat it right up. Factor in the fact that everybody has a car or three and we had it coming.

First of all, oil is a natural resource that can run out. It isn’t something that you can keep milking and expect it to replenish itself. Secondly, with the huge demand that existed here, we played into the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)’s hands as well as every other country that produces and exports oil. We became slaves and addicts to the good liquid. They could now afford to raise gas prices because they knew we didn’t have other alternatives.

The solution to high gas prices therefore is to start investing in alternative sources of energy. Wind energy, solar power, etc. It can be done. If T. Boone Pickens, a man who built his entire empire on oil can lead the charge towards alternative sources (in this case wind energy), then we should capitalize on that. Trying to solve this crisis by drilling for more oil isn’t the answer. Use the money for research on other alternatives. Give auto makers tax breaks for creating more efficient cars (not hybrids). The nation is feeling the sting of gas prices so this is the time to strike while the proverbial iron is hot. If the gas prices go down, then people will just turn a deaf ear on the issue and go back to guzzling massive amounts of gas. No Drilling. Not now.

7 Comments to “Drill baby Drill? Really?”

  1. You know, as I read this, I have a lot of things I could say about the Republicans. I don’t like the way they lie, and manipulate certain pockets of Americans (who collectively rock the vote) into believing in their crap until they get in office and do some off the wall sh__. I have a fear that we will have to endure at LEAST 4 more years (of course it’s in Hill’s best interest for McCain to win so she can run again in 2012) of the current state of affairs, and it’s sad.

    I was just saying to Torrance that I am looking for a 3rd job…I never thought that day would come.

    Tell me what you think of what I posted yesterday…a snipette that I heard on the radio.

    Sorry for ranting…my heart is heavy.

  2. Don’t worry about ranting here Tera, your comments are always welcome. I agree with everything you said but in the interest of fairness, I will add that Democrats do play spin too. However I think they do it a lot less than Repubs. 3rd job?! Wow. How are you managing?

  3. we need to do more than drill like conserve and advance

    and have a great weekend

    chk out my last vtwo post on economy if u can

  4. I tell ya it’s a doozy! The more I work, the more the child care, gas, groceries, utilities, insurance, and other expenses go up—yet my salary remains the same! Of course the government says my 11 1/2 year old is not quite 12 so he can’t stay home alone (with the about-to-be 9 year-old), and the bill is equivalent to a car note AND insurance! Really, pretty soon, the Gov. will just have to kiss my a___!

    It sure would be nice to have a 2 income home, but that’s an entirely different subject—especially since love doesn’t live here anymore.

  5. Oh yeah…I want you to check out my friend Nance’s post at http://deptofnance.blogspot.com/ it’s the one titled “It Turns Out I Had What It Takes All Along” It will make you giggle if nothing else!

  6. Torrance, Thats what I am saying man. Have a good weekend too. I will check out the post.

    Tera, hang in there things are very tough now but they will get better. Don’t give up. I will check out the post, I could use a laugh.

  7. Lots of of folks write about this issue but you said some true words.

Leave a Reply

