The Vision redux

It has been over two years now since this blog was started based on an idea. My plan was to have the blog and my idea evolve over time. What has happened though is that I have evolved and the idea hasn’t grown much. This was made clear to me last weekend. I was talking to a friend of mine about her passion and she was struggling to put it into words. It wasn’t that she didn’t know what it was, she absolutely knew and understood. It was just that important to her that she wanted to do it justice in explaining it. Like all intelligent people, she turned around and asked me about my passion and it was time for me to struggle. The issue wasn’t only that I struggled to articulate my thoughts. I just realized that I was still trying to tell it from a two year old perspective.

As previously mentioned, I have evolved since then. I spent a lot of the time getting my feet under me. I couldn’t handle carrying this along as well. I started to wonder if this wasn’t just a naive, fantastic dream. Then recently, I had a renaissance of sorts. I was discussing things with another friend and I realized that the fire still burned inside me. I had gotten involved in various other things that ended up turning out successful. As a result, I was re-energized and believing again.

I am still trying to gather a group of dedicated, intelligent people who will come alongside me. This is important to me because my perspective isn’t broad enough. I have issues that I feel strongly about and other equally important ones that I don’t. By having them with me, I always seem to catch their passion like a fever. Also, more of us can do more together than we can do by ourselves. So two years later, the idea remains, find people who feel strongly about things and are willing to do something about it. Then partner with them and see where it leads.

5 Comments to “The Vision redux”

  1. I’m in. What’s the next step?

  2. Also, what was your original goal/intended purpose? Aka did you articulate any form of purpose statement (even if only internally)? I know that’s kind of the idea of this particular post but I’m curious to you first spark of inspiration

  3. Hey Shannon,
    I will try to answer your question as best as I can since it is a great one. The biggest challenge for me has been taking my vision and the ideas that have been floating around in my head and bringing them to life. I am working on the premise that most people are generous. I have seen it again and again. When people are given the opportunity to help, more often than not, they rise to the challenge. The problem is, most people don’t know all of what is going on and when they do know, they usually don’t know that they can help. My idea then was to start a round table of young, intelligent, passionate and caring people who will be a part of an ongoing dialogue on the issues facing us today. However, the plan is not to have empty talk. I’d like to have our discussion lead to plans that can be implemented. We may not be able to solve all the issues but the idea is to do what we can. Secondly, this round table will help educate people on these issues helping urge action on their part. So really it is two fold;
    1. Educate
    2. Implement

  4. So its essentially everything I have been doing as a grassroots/political activist and educator- I would love to add my two (hundred) cents

  5. Well you’re in.

Leave a Reply

